County Area MapThe Greater Egypt Regional Planning and Development Commission (Greater Egypt) has been serving southern Illinois communities, citizens, businesses, and local governments since 1961 by providing technical assistance and comprehensive planning.

Within the five counties of Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Perry, and Williamson, Greater Egypt provides economic development planning and assistance, water quality management planning, local government services, technical assistance, and provides administrative services for local, state, and Federal programs such as: Economic Development Administration grants, Delta Regional Authority grants, Community Development Block Grant, Enterprise Zone, and the Southern Illinois Metropolitan Planning Organization.